Moth trapping update

I put the Country Park moth trap out on Sunday night, checking it yesterday morning. Conditions seemed ideal, – no wind, warm and overcast-but the catch was quite small. There were 30 species. Is the peak over ?

After the recent discussion about the identification of Sallow/Poplar Kitten, I was keen to catch another, fresher example. This was duly sitting on the outside of the trap, the separation of these doesn’t seem easy, but I think this one is Sallow Kitten  I placed it over the illustration of Sallow in the field guide and it was an exact match, ie smaller than the picture of Poplar.

More straightforward was this Straw Underwing, described as “common “, but this was the first HCPNR record for 20 years and I’ve never caught one in our Fairlight garden.

Other species included Antler Moth, and 2 each of Ruby Tiger and Yellow Barred Brindle.

Unusually, I was able to see calling Crossbills overhead, from the sound I would have thought 1 or 2, but in fact there were 9

 

2 responses to “Moth trapping update

  1. Thanks for all your postings Alan,

    I was pleased to see your record of Volucella inflata – a friend had a wasp’s nest outside her kitchen window some years ago and after taking various photographs of the activity one of the pictures showed an example of this species of hoverfly settled at the entrance of the nest. V. inflata seems very scarce along the coastal Weald.
    There were also frequent visits by individuals of Volucella zonaria which is better known as having an association with wasps.

    By accident I have noticed that the dark and yellow-bodied ‘sawfly’ on your post of August 1st are actually numerous examples of the Fungus Gnat Sciara hemerobioides. This came up on the Sawfly Group website today. Large numbers of these gnats were on hogweed umbels at South Saxons on Sunday. I thought they looked like sawflies and wonder if this is a case of mimicry. It is worth sending these records to Patrick roper the Dipterists Recorder for Sussex.

    • Many thanks Andrew , indeed I can see that these were the fungus gnat Sciara hemerobioides which is pretty similar to the sawfly I thought it was, the detail of the underside is different though- Sciara has a more segmented look. First time I have seen any sort of fungus gnat to my knowledge. I have seen these previously on hogweed in the Pannel Valley. I have the Sussex BRC species recorder and will send in lots of invert records, with photos, when I can find the time-going out is always more fun than working at the computer ! best wishes Alan

Leave a Reply

