Giant Lacewing

At last, a nice sunny day with no wind, ideal for a long-ish walk before breakfast.

Walking through Fairlight I heard a couple of Siskins and the inevitable Crossbill, I then headed north towards Pett Church. Blundering into a hedge at the bottom of the hill up to Pett, I disturbed quite a large insect which obligingly settled.

This was quite unfamiliar to me but looked like a giant lacewing, and when I got home and looked it up that’s exactly what it was, the Giant Lacewing Osmylus fulvicephalus.  This has a wing span of about 2 inches and favours wooded and shady streams, which is exactly the habitat I saw it in. Something to look for in Hastings Country Park NR.

Giant Lacewing near Fairlight

Leave a Reply

