Trials and Tribulations..

This moth trapping business can be quite frustrating !. After several far too windy nights, I took the trap up to the Country Park last weekend, only to find the access barrier down because people had been parking where they shouldn’t- thanks to Ranger Chris for giving me the lock combination for future use. The next time, a couple of days later, I set everything up, but the bulb wouldn’t light up. Changed the bulb, still no good, so the electrics have failed on this nearly new trap and it will have to be fixed under warranty.

Fortunately I had, in pieces, the MV trap I used to use at home in Kent, which still worked when re-assembled, it is a sturdy, “home made ” version of the Robinson trap. I took this up last night, and found 17 species in or around it this morning. The commonest were Common Swift, and the common tortrix [micro[ Celypha lacunana. Best one for me was Clouded-bordered Brindle, a handsome moth I hadn’t seen before and which was last caught in the Country Park in 1993. Lurking on a nettle leaf, looking like a bird dropping was a Clouded Silver, and I couldn’t resist the frequently photographed face-on view of the Spectacle.

At least one Crossbill flew over

Our Fairlight garden trap held 7 common species, including my first Hawk Moth of the year-Poplar Hawk Moth; interestingly of these 7 only 1 was duplicated in the Country Park catch- Common Swift

Leave a Reply

