Moth and Whitethroats

The dire moth trapping season continues. I had hoped to put the Robinson trap [now reinforced against wind damage] out at the country park last night, but it just seemed too cold. Again.   So I put our Fairlight garden trap out and caught just 1 moth-a Muslin Moth which I’ve previously pictured. This is the first moth I’ve caught since May 9.

After that I took a walk along Firehills to the top of Warren Glen, here I counted 7 singing Whitethroats and 2 Lesser Whitethroats; an easily separable pair of related warblers; the abundant Whitethroat has a scratchy warbling song, its scarcer relative a distinctive rattle.

No evidence of migration other than 1 Swallow heading west

Leave a Reply

