Seaweed mystery

An early morning  trawl through the birding blogs and websites suggested that I should have seen a Wheatear by now, so I went down to Cliff End to see if there were any migrants about. I could find only I singing Chiffchaff, so as usual decided to poke around the strand -line instead.

There were a lot of brown seaweeds cast up- Serrated Wrack, Sea Oak I could identify, but not the one pictured, with its  forked fronds with long swollen tips . I didn’t anticipate any problem identifying something so distinctive, but could find it in none of my books, including the comprehensive “Seasearch guide to Seaweeds of B &I “, or on the internet.

Can anybody help ?

Unidentified Seaweed at Cliff End

Leave a Reply

