Seaweeds

Yesterdays much needed heavy rain kept me indoors for much of the day, but I decided to have a look on the beach at Cliff End at high tide, as the day was drawing to an early close. No birds apart from 25 roosting Oystercatchers, so I investigated the always interesting strandline. Amongst the high tide line of seaweed was the striking, wide orange one with paired bladders , at the top of the picture. It seemed like a good day for some indoor seaweed identification, so I returned with 2 other bladder-bearing species. Consulting my books I found that the middle one is Bladder Wrack, and the lower one Knotted Wrack, but I couldn’t put a name to the other species….

Brown Seaweeds from Cliff End

Leave a Reply

