Moths galore

The current sultry weather is ideal for moth trapping; todays exceptional catch was heralded by a Hummingbird Hawk Moth in our Fairlight garden yesterday. The picture shows one on its favourite plant here, Verbena bonariensis.
This morning there were many more moths, and species, than usual, some still waiting identification, but they included the first Elephant Hawk Moth I’ve caught this year, and a great variety of small and tricky tortrix moths, amongst these however was the large and easy Lozotaeniodes formosanus, a southern species which I haven’t recorded since 2007.

As usual a noisy group of Crossbills flew over while I was inspecting the trap.

2 responses to “Moths galore

  1. Last night I noted a pretty little moth on the kitchen ceiling. It had gone when I came back to pot it, id it and release it (I assumed outside). Your post reminded me to check. I found it just now, after a quick search, on the back of the kitchen curtain. Same moth (Lozotaeniodes formosanus). Thanks for the id. Its now back in wide wild world. Mel

Leave a Reply

