Turnstones

The Country Park was shrouded in fog this morning-no good for counting migrants,  so I went down to Rock-a-Nore. This was misty too, but there were 50 Great Black Backed Gulls, and a couple of Turnstones. These are the first I’ve seen there this autumn [though there were 13 at Bexhill yesterday], the last I saw in spring, pictured, was on May 13th. Has anybody seen Turnstones earlier this autumn ?

2 responses to “Turnstones

  1. Took my first Turnstone pics for this winter on the beach amongst the fishing boats on August 11th. I only found two that day, but I did count 12 last week.

  2. Around high tide 2.00pm on Friday 27th Aug there were 2 flocks of Turnstones at Glynne Gap one of 24 and another of 64, each flock on a different groyne – I have not seen this number here before. My first sighting this Autumn was of 15 on Pett Level near the pools on Sat. 14th August

Leave a Reply

